Experience The "1886" Reserve Room
Located at 9683 Middle Rd. Hammondsport, NY 14840. Open June-October Fri & Sat at 11am & 2pm, Sun at 2pm by reservation only online.
The "1886" Reserve Room caters to those with a deeper interest in the Dr. Frank winemaking and viticultural program. Visits are available by reservation only and include a 30 minute in depth viticultural or cellar experience, followed by a seated educational wine flight paired with creative, small foods from Chef Nyssa Trepes. Wine flights often include older vintages from the winery's esteemed private library. Wines, foods and experiential components are rotated monthly to ensure continued customer education.
The "1886" Room is located at 9683 Middle Rd Hammondsport, NY directly above the Dr. Konstantin Frank sparkling wine cellar. The name for the room was inspired by the age of the building. Built in 1886 by Philip Argus, a German immigrant, the building was once the Western New York Wine Company. Like many Hammondsport area wineries, the Western New York Wine Company went out of business during prohibition. In 1980, Willy Frank, son of Dr. Konstantin Frank, purchased the property with the intent to produce the region’s first ever méthode champenoise sparkling wines from vinifera. In 1985, Willy released his first méthode champenoise sparkling wines. Today, the Dr. Konstantin Frank sparkling wine cellar building is an architectural gem in the Keuka Lake area with its natural fieldstone walls and wine cellar that is perfect for the long term aging of sparkling wines.
The 1886 Reserve Tasting Room was featured in Vineyard & Winery Management Magazine's "Top 20 Most Admired Wine Tasting Rooms" as well as Zagat's "8 Reasons to Drive to the Finger Lakes".